### ILLINOIS ENDANGERED SPECIES PROTECTION BOARD

MINUTES OF 173<sup>rd</sup> MEETING, February 17, 2017

# MIDEWIN NATIONAL TALLGRASS PRAIRIE, MAIN MEETING ROOM, VISITOR CENTER; 30239 SOUTH STATE ROUTE 53, WILMINGTON, IL 60481

For approval at the 174th meeting, May 19, 2017

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Chair Joyce Hofmann, Dr. Janice Coons, Mr. Bruce Ross-Shannon, Mr. Randy Schietzelt, Dr. Angelo Capparella, Dr. Tracy Evans, and Dr. Philip Willink

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Dr. Jeremie Fant

OTHERS PRESENT: Ms. Jeannie Barnes (INHS), Ms. Angella Morehouse (INPC), Ms. Kelly Neal (INPC), Mr. Chris Young (IDNR), Ms. Maggie Cole (IDNR), Ms. Emma Plotts (INPC), Ms. Alexandra Davis (INHS) and Ms. Ann Holtrop (IDNR)

- 1 <u>Call to Order, Roll Call of Board Members, and Introduction of Guests</u>
  Chair Hofmann called the meeting to order at 10:02 A.M. and read the roll call. Since seven Board members were in attendance, there was a quorum. Chair Hofmann welcomed audience members and asked them to introduce themselves.
- 2 Adoption of Agenda

Dr. Janice Coons moved that the agenda be adopted as presented. The motion was seconded by Mr. Randy Schietzelt and carried by unanimous vote.

- Approval of Minutes from the 171<sup>st</sup> Meeting and Minutes of the 172<sup>nd</sup> Meetings
  Minutes of the 171<sup>st</sup> and 172<sup>nd</sup> meetings were distributed to Board members prior to the meeting.
  Minutes of the 171<sup>st</sup> meeting had not been available previously because a quorum had not been present at that meeting. Chair Hofmann prepared a brief set of minutes for the 171<sup>st</sup> meeting for the Board's records. Chair Hofmann asked if there were any corrections to the minutes. Hearing none, she declared the minutes of the 171<sup>st</sup> and 172<sup>nd</sup> meetings approved as presented.
- 4 Report from the Illinois Department of Natural Resources
  Board members received a report detailing activities of the IDNR's Office of Resource
  Conservation and Office of Realty and Environmental Planning. Ms. Ann Holtrop presented additional information.
- 5 <u>Report from the Illinois Nature Preserves Commission</u>
  Ms. Kelly Neal presented highlights from the report of the Illinois Nature Preserves Commission.
- Report from the Illinois Endangered Species Protection Board Chair
  Chair Hofmann reported on her activities since the 172<sup>nd</sup> meeting date. In addition to routine administrative tasks, activities included establishing the Amphibian/Reptile and Fish Endangered

Species Technical Advisory Committees (ESTACs) and performing an administrative review on three petitions for the 2019 Illinois List revision.

# 7 <u>Board Appointments</u>

New Board member Dr. Capparella is replacing Dr. Jeff Walk and his term will expire in 2019. New member Dr. Evans is replacing Mr. Randy Nyboer and her term will expire in 2018. New member Dr. Willink is the replacement for Mr. Vernon LaVia who was not re-appointed to the Board; his term will expire in 2019. Chair Hofmann pointed out that there is still one vacancy on the Board and that the terms of Dr. Coons and Dr. Fant expire in May 2017.

# 8 <u>Semi-annual Review of Whether to Keep Closed the Minutes from Previous Closed Meetings</u>

The Board needs to vote on whether to keep minutes from closed sessions closed to the public. It was noted that this matter was voted on at the 172<sup>nd</sup> meeting with unanimous agreement to keep such minutes closed. Upon a motion by Mr. Ross-Shannon, it was unanimously voted not to release any closed session minutes.

# 9 Preliminary Approval of a Petition to Change the Status of the Osprey (*Pandion haliaetus*) from Endangered to Threatened

The Board considered granting preliminary approval for changing the status of the Osprey from Endangered to Threatened. Mr. Ross-Shannon made a motion to table consideration of such change in status until the May 2017 meeting, which was seconded by Dr. Coons and approved by unanimous vote.

# Approval of Potential Members of the Endangered Species Technical Advisory Committees (ESTACs) for the Terrestrial and Aquatic Invertebrates Chair Hofmann provided a list of aquatic invertebrate experts to serve on the Aquatic Invertebrate ESTAC. Board members suggested adding Leon Hinz and a representative of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency. Upon a motion made by Mr. Ross-Shannon and seconded by Mr. Schietzelt, the following persons were approved by unanimous vote as potential members of the Aquatic Invertebrate ESTAC: Mr. Jeremy Tiemann (INHS), Mr. Kevin Cummins (INHS), Mr. Bob Szafoni (IDNR), Dr. Matt Whiles (SIU), Dr. Chris Taylor (INHS), Dr. Steve Taylor (INHS), Dr. Ed DeWalt (INHS), Dr. James Lamer (WIU), Dr. Jeffrey Laursen (EIU), Ms. Diane Shasteen (IDNR), Dr. Leon Hinz (INHS), Dr. Jochen Gerber (Field Museum of Natural History), and Mr. Gregg Good or a designee (IEPA). Chair Hofmann will formally invite these experts to serve on the ESTAC and inform them of the need to complete Open Meetings Act training.

Chair Hofmann also provided a list of terrestrial invertebrate experts to serve on the Terrestrial Invertebrate ESTAC. Board members suggested adding Dr. James McPherson or another entomologist from Southern Illinois University, Ken Cramer from Monmouth College, Sam Heads from the Illinois Natural History Survey, and Ann and Gary Fritz from Eastern Illinois University. Upon a motion made by Dr. Evans and seconded by Dr. Capparella, the following persons were approved by unanimous vote as potential members of the Terrestrial Invertebrate ESTAC: Angella Moorehouse (INPC), Dr. Chris Dietrich (INHS), Dr. Tim Cashatt (ISMRCC), Mr. James Wiker, Dr. Doug Taron (Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum), Dr. Ken McCravy (WIU), Dr. Michael Jeffords (INHS), Dr. Sam Heads (INHS), Dr. Alexandra Harmon-Threatt

- (UIUC), Dr. Ann Fritz (EIU), Dr. Gary Fritz (EIU), and Dr. James McPherson or designee (SIUC). Chair Hofmann will formally invite these experts to serve on the ESTAC and inform them of the need to complete Open Meetings Act training.
- Approval of the 2014-2016 Illinois Endangered Species Protection Board Biennial Report Chair Hofmann presented the Biennial Report for the period from July 2014 through July 2016, which is to be posted on the Board's website and sent to the State Library, Governor's Office of Management and Budget, and General Assembly Legislative Research Unit. Upon a motion of Mr. Schietzelt, seconded by Dr. Coons, the report was approved by unanimous vote. Mr. Young offered to distribute the report for the Board.
- 12 <u>Public Comment Period (3 minutes per person)</u> No public comments were made.

### 13 Other Business

Chair Hofmann reminded Board members to submit time sheets and travel voucher forms.

## 14 Next Meeting Information

The next Board meeting is scheduled for May 19, 2017 at Midewin National Tallgrass Prairie, Wilmington, IL

### 15 Adjournment

There being no further business, Chair Hofmann adjourned the meeting at 12:20 P.M.