
Testing of deer for Chronic Wasting Disease by IDNR personnel will occur (so long as funding is available) during the 7-day Firearm Deer 
Season (Nov. 17 - 19, 2023 and Nov. 30; Dec. 1, 2 & 3, 2023) in: 

1) counties where deer have been documented with the disease
2) counties considered high risk for the disease, and 

3) counties in which additional surveillance is warranted

In the counties listed in the table below, hunters shall take their whole (or field-dressed) deer to a designated firearm deer check station by 8 p.m. on the day the 
deer was killed. A permanent harvest tag will be attached to the leg of the deer upon registration at the check station. If a hunter is not able to locate a harvested deer 
in sufficient time to enable reporting the harvest by 8 p.m., the hunter must take the deer to the appropriate check station upon its opening at 8 a.m. the 
following morning, or immediately upon retrieving it if that occurs later than the opening of the check station. If this situation occurs on a Sunday (e.g. the check 
station will not be open on Monday), the hunter must contact the appropriate regional IDNR Law Enforcement Office by 10 a.m. Monday morning for instructions on 
checking in the deer. If the head/antlers are delivered to a taxidermist for processing, the temporary harvest tag must accompany the head/antlers and be kept with 
the head/antlers while at the taxidermist. If the carcass is taken to a meat processor, the permanent harvest tag must remain attached to the leg of the deer until it is 
processed, then must remain with the processed deer until it is at the legal residence of the person who legally took or possessed the deer. Persons delivering 
deer/parts of deer to a tanner for processing must supply the tanner with their deer permit number to verify lawful acquisition. In the absence of a permit number, the 
tanner may rely on the written certification of the person from whom the deer was received that the specimen was legally taken or obtained. 

2023 FIREARM DEER CHECK STATIONS IN CWD-TESTING COUNTIES 
 Refer to the back of your deer permit for detailed instructions on tagging your deer. 

 Changes in Check Station locations will be publicly announced 

Boone Boone Co. Fairgrounds 1/2 mi. N. of Rt. 76 and Bus. Rt. 20, Belvidere 

Carroll Mississippi Palisades State Park 3 miles N of Savanna at 16327 IL Route 84 

DeKalb Shabbona Lake State Park 4201 Shabbona Grove Rd., Shabbona 

Grundy  Gebhard Woods State Park 401 Ottawa Street, Morris 

JoDaviess Elizabeth Community Bldg.  
210 N. West St., Elizabeth 1/2 mi. W. of business district on Hwy. 20, next to Highland 

C.C. Elizabeth campus

Kane 
Use Boone, DeKalb, Kendall, or McHenry 
check station  

Kankakee Kankakee River State Park Visitors Center 4 mi. NW of Bourbonnais at 5214 W. State Rt. 102 

Kendall Silver Springs State Park 4.5 mi. W. of Yorkville at 13608 Fox Road 

LaSalle Buffalo Rock State Park 3 mi. W. of Ottawa on Dee Bennett Road 

Livingston Pontiac Sportsman’s Club  
1/2 mi. N.W. of Livingston Co. Ag Fairgrounds at 18663 4-H Park Road., Pontiac (just 

west of I-55) 

McHenry Volo Bog State Natural Area 28478 Brandenburg Rd, Ingleside IL 60041 

Ogle Castle Rock State Park Rt. 2, 3 mi. S. of Oregon 

Stephenson County Fairgrounds 1 mi. E. of Rt. 26 and Fairgrounds Rd., Freeport 

Will Des Plaines Game Propagation Center East of I-55 at 30550 S. Boathouse Road, Wilmington 

Winnebago  Rock Cut State Park 6425 Hart Rd., Loves Park: 0.9 mi. E. of N. Perryville Rd. on Hart Rd. 

• Unfilled Property-Only Hunting (Landowner) Firearm Deer Permits are valid during the Muzzleloader Season (with a muzzleloading rifle) and

also during the Late-Winter/Special CWD seasons (in counties open to the Late-Winter and CWD Seasons).

• Any unfilled Firearm, Muzzleloader or Youth permits except Special Hunt Area permits that were valid during the previous Firearm, Muzzle-
loader-Only or Youth seasons are valid during the CWD Season (in counties open to CWD Season).

• Hunters shall not have in their possession, while in the field during deer season, any deer permit issued to another person.

• It is illegal to use salt, corn or any other kind of bait. An area is considered as baited during the presence of and for 10 consecutive days
following the removal of bait. NOTE: Feeding deer is also illegal, although there are certain exemptions such as food plots. Consult the Hunting
Digest for more complete information.

• Permits will not be reissued in cases involving deer taken which are found to be diseased or spoiled due to previous injury.  Legal disposal of

unfit deer taken shall be the responsibility of the hunter.

• In those counties where deer hunting is permitted, it is unlawful to hunt or trap any species protected by the Wildlife Code, except migratory
waterfowl, unless the blaze orange or blaze pink clothing required for deer hunters is worn during the firearm deer seasons.

• It is unlawful to take or attempt to take deer:  a) in excess of the legal limit; b) during closed season; c) by use of dogs*, horses, automobiles,
aircraft, boats or other vehicles.  ***This does not prohibit the use of a leashed dog to track wounded deer.***

• Totally white white-tailed deer are protected by Illinois law and are illegal to kill.

FIREARM OWNERS ID CARD (Issued by Illinois State Police): Regardless of who owns the gun, anyone who has a firearm, including 
muzzleloaders, or firearm ammunition in their possession, must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners’ ID (FOID) Card unless he or she is: a)
A licensed out-of-state-sportsman hunting in Illinois, or b) Under the age of 21 and under the immediate control of a parent, guardian, or responsible adult 
who has in their possession a valid FOID Card.  For more FOID Card Information, contact ISP at  217-782-7980.
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        2023 FIREARM DEER HUNTING INFORMATION FOR CWD COUNTIES 

   SEASON DATES 
• 1st Firearm Season:  Nov. 17-19, 2023
• 2nd Firearm Season: Nov. 30; Dec. 1, 2 & 3, 2023
• Muzzleloader-Only Season: Dec. 8-10, 2023 (Hunters

may also use a muzzleloader permit with a muzzleloader
during 2nd Firearm Season Nov. 30; Dec. 1, 2 & 3, 2023)

      PERMIT, LICENSE, & HABITAT 
     STAMP REQUIREMENTS 

Permit:  Before hunting, you must sign your permit. Your deer 
permit shall be carried on your person while hunting. 

License: In addition to your deer permit, you must have a valid 
Illinois Hunting, Sportsman, Youth or Apprentice License 
unless you are: 

• A person who is disabled and able to show proof of
disability in the form of one of the following:

1. A State Disabled Person ID card (available from the
Secretary of State through the Drivers License Examining
Station) showing a P2, P2A, H2 or H2A disability.

2. Veterans disability card (at least 10% service related -
available from local Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs
offices).

 OR unless you are: 
• An Illinois resident on active duty and on leave from the

U.S. Armed Forces.
• A landowner or tenant residing on farm lands, or the

children, parents, brothers and sisters permanently
residing on such lands, and hunting only the lands resided
on.  Landowners/Tenants are required to obtain a Habitat
Stamp, unless exempt.

Habitat Stamp: Before any person 18 years of age or older 
takes, attempts to take, or pursues a deer, he or she shall first 
obtain a State Habitat Stamp.  Disabled veterans and 
former prisoners of war shall not be required to obtain a State 
Habitat Stamp. Any person who obtained a Lifetime License 
before January 1, 1993, shall not be required to obtain a State 
Habitat Stamp.

 Licenses/stamps are available at exploremoreil.com.

   HUNTING HOURS 
One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.  
Persons hunting deer must have gun unloaded during hours 
when deer hunting is unlawful. See “Legal Hunting Devices” for  
description of unloaded muzzleloading rifle.  

   LEGAL HUNTING DEVICES 
• Shotguns, loaded with slugs only, of not larger than 10 nor smaller

than 20 gauge, not capable of firing more than three consecutive
slugs; or

• Single- or double-barreled muzzleloading rifles of at least .45
caliber shooting a single projectile through a barrel of at least 16
inches in length; or

• Centerfire revolvers, centerfire single-shot handguns, and center-
fire single-shot rifles.  The barrel of a handgun shall be at least 4
inches.

• On private land only, archery equipment may be used with a
FIREARM permit ONLY during the Firearm Seasons
Nov. 17-19, 2023 & Nov. 30; Dec. 1, 2 & 3, 2023.

 *** Additional Muzzleloading Regulations*** 
• A muzzleloading firearm is defined as a firearm into which the

projectile is incapable of being inserted from the breech end.

• Only black powder or a “black powder substitute” such as Pyrodex
may be used. Modern smokeless powders (nitrocellulose-
based) are an approved black powder substitute only in
muzzleloading firearms specifically designed for their use.

• Only percussion (cap or primer), wheellock, matchlock, flintlock or
electronic ignition may be used.

• Removal of percussion cap/primer; removal of prime powder from
frizzen pan with frizzen open and hammer all the way down;
removal of prime powder from flashpan and wheel
unwound; removal of prime powder and match with match not lit;
or removal of the battery from the electronic ignition shall
constitute an unloaded muzzleloading firearm.

CLOTHING 
Any person taking or attempting to take deer by use of a 
firearm shall wear, when in the field, a cap and upper outer 
garment of solid blaze orange or solid blaze pink color, 
displaying a minimum of 400 square inches of blaze orange or 
blaze pink material.  

         IT IS UNLAWFUL: 
a. to use or possess any other firearm or ammunition in the field

while hunting white-tailed deer except as provided in the Fire-
arm Concealed Carry Act;

b. for any person having taken the legal limit of deer by firearm
to further participate with a firearm in any deer hunting party;

c. to drive deer, or participate in a deer drive, on all Department- 
owned or managed properties. A deer drive is defined as a
deliberate action by one or more persons (whether armed or
unarmed) whose intent is to cause deer to move within
firearm range of one or more participating hunters.

For more details regarding deer hunting laws, please 
refer to the Hunting Digest, or contact IDNR Office 
of Law Enforcement at 217-782-6431.

LEGAL AMMUNITION 
• For shotguns and muzzleloading firearms, the minimum size of the

projectile shall be .44 caliber. A wad or sleeve is not considered a
projectile or a part of the projectile.

• The only legal ammunition for a centerfire handgun or rifle is a bot-
tleneck centerfire cartridge of .30 caliber or larger with a case length
not exceeding one and two-fifths inches, or a straight-walled center-
fire cartridge of .30 caliber or larger, both of which must be available
as a factory load with the published ballistic tables of the manufac-
turer showing a capability of at least 500 foot pounds of energy at the
muzzle.  The barrel of a handgun shall be at least 4 inches.

• Non-expanding, military-style full metal jacket bullets cannot be used
to harvest white-tailed deer; only soft point or expanding bullets
(including copper/copper-alloy rounds designed for hunting) are legal
ammunition.

BAG LIMIT 
The bag limit is one deer per legally authorized either-sex, antlered-only or 
antlerless-only permit. All either-sex permits and antlered-only permits are 
subject to the following restriction: No hunter, regardless of the quantity or 
type of permits in his/her possession, may harvest more than 2 antlered deer 
during a year, including the Youth, Archery, Muzzleloader and Firearm 
Seasons. For purposes of this bag limit, deer seasons are considered to be 
in the same year if their opening dates fall within the same 12-month period 
that begins July 1.  A hunter in possession of an either-sex permit after 
having harvested 2 antlered deer during a year may only use the permit to 
harvest an antlerless deer. Subject to this restriction, an either-sex permit 
holder is allowed to take a deer with or without antlers and an antlered-only 
permit holder is allowed to take only a deer having at least one antler of a 
length of 3 or more inches. An antlerless only permit holder is allowed to 
take only a deer without antlers or a deer having antlers less than 3 inches 
long.  

 HUNTING AREA 
The specific county or hunt area for which the permit is issued. Permission to 
hunt on private property must be obtained from  the property owner or tenant. 
Landowner permits are valid on all properties owned by that permittee, 
regardless of in which county the property is located, so long as that county 
is open for the specific hunting season for which the permit is issued. This 
includes all permits issued to: 1)   A landowner, tenant, bona fide current 
income beneficiary, or the immediate family of a landowner, tenant, or 
income beneficiary; or      2) A bona fide equity shareholder, bona fide equity 
member, or bona fide equity partner and on all lands owned by the 
corporation, limited liability company or partnership. All tenant permits issued  
under this Part are valid only on lands rented/leased for commercial 
agriculture in the counties open for the specified hunting season. A hunting 
rights lease, or other nonagricultural lease, is not valid as a basis for 
obtaining a landowner or tenant permit.  
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