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2025 Illinois Youth Deer Hunting Information 
 

SEASON DATES: OCTOBER 11-13, 2025  
 

SHOOTING HOURS: ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset 
 
OPEN COUNTIES/PUBLIC SITES: All counties EXCEPT Cook, DuPage and Lake Counties, and that portion of Kane 
County east of State Route 47.  A statewide-issued youth deer hunt permit will authorize the holder to hunt in any of the open 
counties of the State, on property where permission to hunt has been obtained from the property owner, or at any of the public 
land sites listed on pages 3-4. 
 
AGE RESTRICTIONS: The Youth Deer Season is open only to hunters who have not reached their 18th birthday 
prior to the opening date of the season. 

 
RESIDENCY: The same youth deer hunt permit is available to eligible resident and nonresident youths regardless of 
residency. 

 
PERMIT INFORMATION:  
 

  Purchase Dates: August 5 – October 13, 2025   
  Method of Purchase:  Must purchase in-person at a DNR License Vendor.   
  Fee:  $10.00 (additional charges apply)  
  Permit Limit:  One either-sex youth deer hunt permit.  
 
  Valid Dates to Use Permit:  October 11-13, 2025.  An unfilled youth deer permit is also valid to use on private land  
  during the first firearm deer season (November 21-23, 2025); but, on public land, the permit may only be used on sites that  
  allow unrestricted hunting.  Unfilled permits are not valid on public land sites that limit the number of hunters during the  
  firearm season via the use of a site permit quota. 
 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS: In addition to a current, valid youth deer hunt permit, all eligible youth hunters must 
have an apprentice or youth hunting license, or they must have completed a State-approved Hunter Education course 
and have a hunting license, unless exempt.  

 
SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS: Each hunter participating in the Youth Deer Hunting Season while using an 
Apprentice Hunter License or a Youth Hunting License must be accompanied by a non-hunting, validly licensed (Illinois 
hunting license) adult who is 21 years of age or older. Additionally, hunters participating in the Youth Deer Hunting 
Season on public property must be supervised by a validly licensed resident or nonresident who is 21 years of age or 
older and has a hunter education certificate. All other hunters (using other types of hunting licenses or license-exempt) 
participating in the Youth Deer Hunting Season must each be accompanied by a non-hunting supervisor (parent, 
guardian or responsible adult). A nonresident supervisor must have a valid Illinois hunting license. The non-hunting 
supervisor must wear the solid blaze orange/pink garments required of gun deer hunters and must remain with the hunting 
youth so as to have the youth under immediate control. Youths participating in the first firearm deer season using only an 
unfilled youth deer hunt permit (i.e., youths without a firearm deer season permit for that county) must be accompanied by 
a supervisor as described in this section; but, during the firearm deer season, that supervisor may also hunt so long as 
he/she has the appropriate licenses and permits. Each supervisor may only accompany a single youth at any given time 
during the hunt. The supervising adult shall be criminally liable for the actions of the youth in the hunting party and be 
subject to the criminal penalties provided by law. 

 
BAG LIMITS: The bag limit is one (1) deer per legally authorized permit. All either-sex permits are subject to the 
following restrictions: no hunter, regardless of the quantity or type of permits in his/her possession, may harvest more 

https://www.exploremoreil.com/agentlocator
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than two (2) antlered deer during a year, including the youth, archery, muzzleloader and firearm seasons. Deer seasons 
are considered to be in the same year if their opening dates fall within the same 12-month period that begins on July 1. 
 
LEGAL HUNTING DEVICES: 

1. Shotgun, loaded with slugs only, of not larger than 10 nor smaller than 20 gauge, not capable of firing more 
than 3 consecutive slugs; or 

2. A single or double-barreled muzzleloading rifle of at least .45 caliber shooting a single projectile through a 
barrel of at least sixteen inches in length. A muzzleloading firearm is defined as a firearm into which the 
projectile is incapable of being inserted from the breech end. Allowable ignition systems are limited to 
percussion (cap or primer), wheellock, matchlock, flintlock, or electronic ignition. Only black powder or a 
black powder substitute such as Pyrodex may be used. Modern smokeless powders (nitrocellulose-based) are an 
approved black powder substitute only in muzzleloading firearms that are specifically designed for their use. 

3. Centerfire revolvers, centerfire single-shot handguns, and centerfire single-shot rifles as specified in 520 
ILCS 5/2.25 

4. On private land only, archery equipment as defined by 17 Ill. Adm. Code 670.30 may be used during the Youth 
Deer Season while hunting with a valid youth deer permit. 

Muzzleloaders are considered “unloaded” IF: the percussion cap/primer is removed; OR prime powder has been 
removed from the frizzen pan with the frizzen open and hammer all the way down; OR prime powder has been removed 
from the flashpan and wheel is unwound; OR prime powder has been removed and match is not lit; OR the battery is 
removed from t he electronic ignition. 

LEGAL AMMUNITION: For shotguns and muzzleloading firearms, the minimum size of the projectile shale be 
.44 caliber. A wad or sleeve is not considered a projectile or part of the projectile. Non-expanding, military-style 
full metal jacket bullets cannot be used to harvest white-tailed deer; only soft point or expanding bullets (including 
copper/copper alloy rounds designed for hunting) are legal ammunition. 

 
The only legal ammunition for a centerfire handgun or rifle is a bottleneck centerfire cartridge of .30 caliber or larger 
with a case length not exceeding one and two-fifths inches, or a straight-walled centerfire cartridge of .30 caliber or 
larger, both of which must be available as a factory load with the published ballistic tables of the manufacturer showing 
a capability of at least 500 foot pounds of energy at the muzzle. The barrel of a handgun shall be at least 4 inches. Full 
metal jacket bullets may not be used to harvest deer. 

 
REPORTING HARVEST OF DEER: Successful hunters must register their harvest by 10:00 p.m. on the same 
calendar day the deer was taken by calling the toll-free telephone check-in system at 1-866-ILCHECK or by accessing 
the on-line check-in system at https://www.exploremoreil.com/wildlife/harvest. 
They will be provided with a confirmation number to verify that they checked in their harvest. This number must be 
written by the hunter on the temporary harvest tag (leg tag). If the condition of the tag precludes writing on the tag in 
the appropriate space (i.e., bloody, etc.), the confirmation number shall be written elsewhere on the tag, or onto a piece 
of paper and attached to the deer along with the temporary harvest tag. The deer must remain whole (or field dressed) 
until it has been checked in. In instances where deer are checked in while the hunter is still afield, the deer may not be 
dismembered while afield beyond quartering the animal. If quartered, all parts of the carcass (except the entrails 
removed during field dressing) must be transported together and evidence of sex must remain naturally attached to one 
quarter. Evidence of sex is: 

1) For a buck: head with antlers attached to carcass or attached testicle, scrotum or penis. 
2) For a doe: head attached to carcass or attached udder (mammary) or vulva. 

The harvest tag (leg tag) and confirmation number must remain attached to the deer until it is at the legal residence of 
the person who legally took or possessed the deer and final processing is completed. If the head/antlers are delivered to 
a taxidermist for processing, the confirmation number must be recorded on the "head tag" portion of the permit, and both 
must remain with the deer while at the taxidermist. If the carcass is taken to a meat processor, the harvest tag (leg tag) 

https://www.exploremoreil.com/wildlife/harvest
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with confirmation number must remain with the deer while it is processed and until it is at the legal residence of the 
person who legally took or possessed the deer. Persons delivering deer/parts of deer to a tanner for processing must 
supply the tanner with either their deer permit number, their confirmation number, or a written certification by the 
person from whom the deer was received that the specimen was legally taken or obtained. 

 

Public Land Sites Open to 2025 Youth Deer Hunt 
 
The following sites are open to youth hunting during the Youth Deer Season. Contact the site for other 
special site regulations; some sites may have hunter quotas and require participation in a drawing: Hunting 
Site Directory  

 
Site Name County Location  
Apple River Canyon SP (Salem/Thompson Units) Jo Daviess 
Argyle Lake SP McDonough 
Big Grand Pierre Glade SNA Pope  
Big River SF Henderson 
Burning Star SFWA Jackson 
Cache River SNA Johnson//Massac/Pulaski 
Campbell Pond SHA Franklin/Jackson 
Cape Bend SFWA Alexander 
Carlyle Lake SFWA Clinton/Fayette 
Cave-In-Rock SP (Kaegi Tract) Hardin 
Cedar Glen SNA Hancock 
Chauncey Marsh SNA Lawrence 
Clinton Lake SRA (only in area between County Hwy 14/Friends Creek Road & State Route 48 - 
both sides of lake)  

DeWitt 

Coffeen Lake SFWA (Upland Management Area only)  Montgomery 
Copperhead Hollow SFWA Jersey 
Crawford County SFWA Crawford 
Cretaceous Hills SNA Pope  
Cypress Pond SNA Johnson 
Deer Pond SNA Johnson 
Devil’s Island SFWA Union/Alexander 
Dixon Springs SP Pope  
Dog Island SWMA Pope  
Eldon Hazlet SP (North Allen Branch Unit only) Clinton 
Ferne Clyffe SP (Cedar/Draper Bluffs Hunting Area) Johnson 
Ferne Clyffe SP (Ferne Clyffe Hunting Area) Johnson 
Fort Massac SP Massac 
Fox Ridge SP Coles 
Giant City SP Jackson/Union 
Glass Hill SNA Johnson 
Green River SWA Lee  
Hamilton County SFWA Hamilton 
Hanover Bluff SNA Jo Daviess 
Hidden Springs SF Shelby 

https://huntillinois.org/directory
https://huntillinois.org/directory
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Horseshoe Lake SFWA (Public Hunting Area) Alexander 
Iroquois County State Wildlife Area Iroquois 
Jim Edgar Panther Creek SFWA Cass 
Kankakee River SP Kankakee 
Kaskaskia River SFWA (except south of Hwy 154 and north of Hwy 13) Randolph/St.Clair/Monroe 
Kinkaid Lake SFWA Jackson 
Lake Shelbyville Project Lands (not including Eagle Creek and Wolf Creek State Recreation 
Areas) Shelby 

Lake Shelbyville Project Lands in Moultrie County including Shelbyville SFWA Moultrie 
Mackinaw SFWA Tazewell 
Marshall SFWA Marshall/Peoria 
Meeker SHA Jasper 
Mermet Lake SFWA Massac 
Mississippi River (Pool 17) Mercer 
Mississippi River (Pool 18) Henderson 
Mississippi River (Pool 24) Pike  
Mississippi River (Pools 21 and 22) Adams 
Mississippi River SFWA Calhoun/Jersey 
Newton Lake SFWA Jasper 
Oakford CA Menard 
Pere Marquette SP Jersey 
Prairie Ridge SNA Jasper 
Pyramid SP (Captain, Denmark, East Conant, Galum, and Park units) Perry 
Rall Woods SNA Jo Daviess 
Ralph Clover SNA  Jackson 
Ray Norbut SFWA (including the Dutch Creek unit) Pike  
Rend Lake SFWA and COE managed areas of Rend Lake Jefferson/Franklin 
Saline County SFWA Saline 
Sand Ridge SF Mason 
Sangamon County CA Sangamon 
Seilbeck Forest SNA Massac 
Siloam Springs SP Adams/Brown 
Skinner Farm SHA Johnson 
Spoon River SF Knox  
Tapley Woods SNA Jo Daviess 
Ten Mile Creek SFWA Jefferson/Hamilton 
Trail of Tears SF Union 
Turkey Bluffs SFWA Randolph 
Union County SFWA (Firing Line Unit) Union 
Wards Grove SNP Jo Daviess 
Weinberg King SFWA (including Scripps and Spunky Bottoms units) Schuyler/Brown 
Wildcat Hollow SHA Effingham 
Winston Tunnel SNA Jo Daviess 
Wise Ridge SNA Johnson 

 
Please call 217-782-7305 or email DNR.Permits1@illinois.gov with any questions. 
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