# **2025 Spring Youth Wild Turkey Hunting Permit Information**

**SEASON DATES:** March 29 & 30 and April 5 & 6, 2025

The North Zone and South Zone are open concurrently for all four days.

### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

Eligibility: The Spring Youth Turkey Hunt is open only to hunters who have not reached the age of 18 prior to the opening date of the youth season. Hunters must have an apprentice or youth hunting license, or they must have completed a State-approved Hunter Education course and have a hunting license, unless exempt. In addition, hunters 18 and older must have a Habitat Stamp; hunters under 18 are exempt.

Hunters are eligible to purchase only **one** Youth Turkey Hunt Permit.

A permit issued for the Youth Turkey Hunt will count toward the maximum number of permits an individual can receive for the Spring Wild Turkey Season. It shall be unlawful to apply for or receive more than *three permits* for the spring turkey season. The three-permit total includes lottery drawn, OTC, youth and landowner permits.

The Youth Turkey Hunt Permit shall be valid only for the dates and counties/Special Hunt Area listed on the permit.

It is unlawful to use any weapon except a shotgun (.410 bore to 10 gauge only) or bow and arrow. #4 shot is the largest size shot that may be legally used or possessed while turkey hunting.

Each hunter participating in the Illinois Youth Turkey Hunt while using an Apprentice Hunter License or Youth Hunting License must be accompanied by a non-hunting, validly-licensed (Illinois hunting license) adult who is 21 years of age or older.

All other hunters (using other types of hunting licenses or license-exempt) participating in the Youth Turkey Hunt must each be accompanied by a non-hunting supervisor (parent, guardian or responsible adult). If the youth is hunting with a firearm, a nonresident supervisor must have a valid Illinois hunting license.

The non-hunting supervisor must remain with the hunting youth so as to have the youth under immediate control. Each supervisor may only accompany a single youth at any given time during the hunt. The supervising adult shall be criminally liable for the actions of the youth in the hunting party and shall be subject to the criminal penalties provided by law.

For questions, please call **217-782-7305** or email <u>DNR.Permits1@illinois.gov.</u> For IDNR site-specific information (Hunter Fact Sheets): Hunt Illinois



# SPRING YOUTH TURKEY HUNTING ON PUBLIC LAND SITE-SPECIFIC PERMIT REQUIRED (LOTTERY APPLICATION)

Application Dates: January 21, 2025 through February 17, 2025

Apply online only: <a href="https://www.exploremoreil.com">https://www.exploremoreil.com</a>

• Application Fee: \$10 plus associated fees (paid at time of application)

• Season Dates: March 29 & 30 and April 5 & 6, 2025

### **NORTHERN ZONE**

SITE NAME	County Located
Butterfield Trail SRA	Iroquois
Castle Rock SP	Ogle
Clinton Lake SRA	DeWitt
Coffeen Lake SFWA	Montgomery
Edward Madigan SP – James Helfrich Propagation Center (designated areas only)	Logan
Harry "Babe" Woodyard SNA	Vermilion
Heidecke SFWA (Jugtown Unit)	Grundy
Hidden Springs SF	Shelby
Iroquois Co SFWA	Iroquois
Jim Edgar Panther Creek SFWA	Cass
Kankakee River SP	Kankakee/Will
Kickapoo SRA	Vermilion
Middlefork SFWA	Vermilion
Momence Wetlands	Kankakee
Moraine View SP	McLean
Sand Ridge SF	Mason
Sangchris Lake SP	Sangamon/Christian
Weldon Springs - Piatt Co. Unit	Piatt

#### **SOUTHERN ZONE**

County Located
Jackson
Williamson
Pope
Clinton
Lawrence
Johnson
Massac
Fayette
Wayne
Marion
Franklin/Jefferson



# SPRING YOUTH TURKEY HUNTING ON PRIVATE LAND COUNTY-SPECIFIC PERMIT REQUIRED

- Type of Permit: Spring Youth Wild Turkey OTC County-Specific Permit
- Dates Available for Purchase: March 4, 2025, through April 6, 2025
- Permit Fee: \$10.50 plus any associated fees
- Sold over-the-counter by License Vendors
- Season Dates: March 29 & 30 and April 5 & 6, 2025

#### NORTHERN ZONE OPEN COUNTIES

Adams, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeKalb, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Iroquois, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, Lake, La Salle, Lee, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Marshall-Putnam, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, McLean, Menard, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Ogle, Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Rock Island, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Stephenson, Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford

### **SOUTHERN ZONE OPEN COUNTIES**

Alexander, Bond, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin-Hardin, Hamilton, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, Saline, St. Clair, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White and Williamson





Hanover Bluff SNA

Horseshoe Lake SFWA in Alexander County

# SPRING YOUTH TURKEY HUNTING ON PUBLIC LAND COUNTY-SPECIFIC PERMIT REQUIRED

The following sites will be open to holders of a valid Youth Spring Turkey Hunt County Permit for the county in which the site is located. Persons wishing to hunt one of the listed sites should contact that site prior to hunting for information about site regulations and restrictions.

- Type of Permit: Spring Youth Wild Turkey OTC County-Specific Permit
- Dates Available for Purchase: March 4, 2025, through April 6, 2025
- Permit Fee: \$10.50 plus any associated fees
- Sold over-the-counter by License Vendors
- Season Dates: March 29 & 30 and April 5 & 6, 2025

Site Name	County Located
Anderson Lake SFWA	Fulton
Apple River Canyon SP – Thompson & Salem Units	Jo Daviess
Argyle Lake SP	McDonough
Big Bend SFWA	Whiteside
Big Grand Pierre Glade SNA	Pope
Big River SF	Henderson
Cache River SNA	Johnson/Pulaski/Massac
Cape Bend SFWA	Alexander
Carlyle Lake SFWA	Fayette
Carlyle Lake SFWA - East Fork Management Unit	Clinton
Cave-In-Rock SP — Kaegi Tract	Hardin
Copperhead Hollow SWA	Jersey
Crab Orchard NWR - Public Hunting Area	Williamson/Jackson/Union
Crawford County SFWA	Crawford
Cretaceous Hills SNA	Pope
Cypress Pond SNA	Union/Johnson
Deer Pond SNA	Johnson
Devil's Island SFWA	Union/Alexander
Dog Island SWMA	Pope
Ferne Clyffe SP - Cedar Draper SHA	Johnson
Fox Creek SFWA	Richland/Wayne
Fox Ridge SP	Coles
Giant City SP	Jackson/Union
Green River SWA	Lee
Hamilton County SFWA	Hamilton

**JoDaviess** 

Alexander





Kaskaskia River SFWA Monroe/Randolph/St. Clair

Kinkaid Lake SFWA Jackson Lake Shelbyville Project Land – Moultrie County Moultrie Lake Shelbyville Project Land – Shelby County Shelby Mackinaw River SFWA Tazewell Marshall SFWA Marshall Mermet Lake SFWA Massac

Adams/Calhoun/Jersey/Pike Mississippi River Area Pools 21,22,24,25 & 26

Mt. Vernon Game Propagation Center Jefferson Nauvoo SP (Max Rowe Unit Only) Hancock Newton Lake SFWA Jasper Paul C. Burrus Habitat Area Coles Pere Marquette SP (open area east of Graham Hollow Road only) Jersey Pyramid SP – East Conant and Park Units Perry Rall Woods SNA **JoDaviess** Rauchfuss Hill SRA Pope Ray Norbut SFWA Pike

Rend Lake SFWA Jefferson/Franklin Rend Lake COE (managed land in Jefferson and Franklin counties) Jefferson/Franklin

Sahara Woods SFWA Saline Saline County SFWA Saline Sam Parr SFWA Jasper Shelbyville SFWA Moultrie Sielbeck Forest SNA Massac Siloam Springs SP Adams/Brown

Siloam Springs SP (Buckhorn Unit) Brown Skinner Farm SHA Johnson Spoon River SF Knox **Tapley Woods SNA JoDaviess** 

Ten Mile Creek SFWA Hamilton/Jefferson

Trail of Tears SF Union Turkey Bluffs SFWA Randolph Union County SFWA (Firing Line and Controlled Hunting Area only) Union Weinberg-King SP Schuyler Weinberg-King SP - Cecil White Unit Hancock Weinberg-King SP - Scripps Unit Schuyler Weinberg-King SP - Spunky Bottoms Unit Brown Winston Tunnel SNA **JoDaviess** Wise Ridge SNA Johnson Witkowsky SWA **JoDaviess**