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State of Illinois 
Department of Natural Resources 

ILLINOIS Boat 
REGISTRATION & 
SAFETY ACT 
INFORMATION 
This is only a guide to the highlights of the Illinois 
Boat Registration and Safety Act. The entire Act 
may be found in the Illinois Compiled Statutes, 
Chapter 625 at the following link;  
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID
=1826&ChapterID=49  .  More complete 
information is available from Department of Natural 
Resources Law Enforcement personnel. The 
information in this brochure is based on laws in 
effect as of January 1, 2015 and is subject to 
change. 
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How to Register and Title Your Boat 

To register your boat, you must submit a boat 
application, required documents and the appropriate 
fee (see page 2-4 for registration requirements). 
Applications are available from Department of 
Natural Resources offices, boat dealers or on-line at 
http://www.dnr.illinois.gov  
If you have any questions regarding registration and 
titling, call: 217-557-0180 or 1-800-382-1696. 
Credit card holders can renew their boat registration 
by calling: 1-866-867-3542 (1-866-TO-
RELICENSE).  Have your credit card, current 
registration certificate and a pen and paper ready 
before making the call or going on-line. These 
convenient services allow you to renew your boat 
registration 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
 
Prepare with Safety Education 
Boat safety education is a positive move toward a 
safe and enjoyable boating future. Enroll in a Boat 
Safety Course now. For information on class 
locations call: 
1-800-832-2599 

Definitions 
Vessel or Watercraft means every description of 
watercraft, used or capable of being used as a means 
of transportation on water, except a seaplane on the 
water, air mattress or similar device, and boats used 
for concession rides in artificial bodies of water 
designed and used exclusively for such concessions. 
Motorboat means any vessel propelled by 
machinery, whether or not such machinery is the 
principal source of propulsion. 
Non-Powered Watercraft means any canoe, 
kayak, kiteboard, paddleboard, float tube, or 
watercraft not propelled by sail, canvas, or 
machinery of any sort. Note:  The Department of 
Natural Resources does not define inner tubes or 
other swim type inflatable tubes as Non-Powered 
Watercraft, thus they are not subject to the Boat 
Safety & Registration Act. 
Personal Watercraft means a vessel that uses an 
inboard motor powering a water jet pump as its 
primary source of motor power and that is designed 
to be operated by a person sitting, standing, or 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1826&ChapterID=49
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1826&ChapterID=49
http://www.dnr.illinois.gov/
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kneeling on the vessel, rather than the conventional 
manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel, and 
includes vessels that are similar in appearance and 
operation but are powered by an outboard or 
propeller driven motor.  
Specialty Prop-craft means a vessel that is 
similar in appearance and operation to a personal 
watercraft but that is powered by an outboard or 
propeller driven motor. 
Sailboat means any watercraft propelled by sail or 
canvas, including sailboards. 
Operate means to navigate or otherwise use a 
motorboat or vessel. 
Competent means capable of assisting a skier in 
case of injury or accident. 
Underway applies to a vessel or watercraft at all 
times except when it is moored at a dock or 
anchorage area. 
Use applies to all vessels on the waters of this 
State, whether moored or underway. 
Waters of this State means any water within the 
jurisdiction of this State. 
 
Application and Jurisdiction The Department 
shall, for the purposes of this Act, have full and 
complete jurisdiction of all waters within the 
boundaries of the State of Illinois. 
 
Inspection, Enforcement & Prosecutions  
Agents of the Department of Natural Resources or 
other duly authorized police officers may board and 
inspect any watercraft at any time for the purpose of 
determining compliance with this Act. 
 
Resistance to Officers 
It is unlawful for any person to resist or obstruct any 
officer or employee of the Department in the 
discharge of his duties under the provisions 
hereof.  It is unlawful for the operator of a 
watercraft, having been given a signal by a 
conservation police officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, 
or other police officer directing the operator of the 
watercraft to a stop, to willfully fail or refuse to 
obey the direction, to increase speed, to extinguish 
lights, or otherwise flee or attempt to elude the 
officer. The signal given by the officer may be by 
hand, voice, sign, siren, or blue or red light. 
 

 
 
Registration and Titling 
Boats which must be registered and titled: All 
watercraft operated on the waters within the 
jurisdiction of this state shall be registered and 
titled. Boats exempted from registration and 
titling: Watercraft shall not be required to be 
registered and titled under this Act if it is: 

• A watercraft which has a valid marine 
document issued by the United 

 States Coast Guard, EXCEPT THAT any 
 such documented vessel used upon the 
 waters of this State for more than 60 days in 
 any calendar year shall be registered in 
 compliance with this Act. 

• Already covered by a number in full force 
and effect from another state, if such boat 
will not be within this State for a period in 
excess of 60 consecutive days. 

• A watercraft from a country other than the 
United States temporarily using the waters 
of the State. 

• A watercraft owned by the United States, a 
state or subdivision thereof, used solely for 
official purposes, and clearly identifiable. 

• A vessel used exclusively as a ship’s 
lifeboat. 

• Watercraft while competing in any race 
approved by the Department, or if the 
watercraft is designed and intended solely 
for racing while engaged in navigation that 
is incidental to preparation of the watercraft 

 for the race. Preparation of the watercraft for 
 the race may be accomplished only after 
 obtaining the written authorization of the   
 Department. 

• Non-powered watercraft as defined above  
 
Registration – Title Application The owner of 
each watercraft requiring registration and titling by 
this State shall file a watercraft application with the 
Department. The application shall be signed by the 
owner of the boat, and shall be accompanied by the 
required documents.  Registration and/or titling is 
based upon the following; New boats: you must 
surrender the original properly endorsed 
Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin; Boats 
previously registered or titled in another state; 
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you must surrender the owner’s registration 
certificate and/or title; Illinois titled boats: you 
must surrender the owner’s Illinois title and 
appropriate fee.  Warning: Boats purchased new or 
used from out of state dealers, manufacturers or 
lending institutions are subject to tax. You must 
contact the Illinois Department of Revenue at 1-
800-732-8866 for instructions before submitting an 
application. 
 
Registration Number Display The owner of 
the watercraft shall paint on or attach to both sides 
of the bow (front) of the boat the registration 
number, which shall be of block characters at least 3 
inches in height. The figures shall read from left to 
right, be of contrasting color to their background 
and be maintained in a legible condition. No other 
numbers shall be displayed on the bow. A space 
shall be provided between the letters “IL” and the 
assigned number and another space between the 
assigned number and the letters which follow. A 
vessel that is covered by a valid marine document 
must display current expiration decals, but is 
exempt from the requirement to display an Illinois 
registration number. Operators of non-powered 
watercraft, such as jon boats, canoes and kayaks 
are not required to obtain Illinois registration 
numbers, but instead shall purchase a Water 
Usage Stamp. Note: For Federally documented 
vessels, the Illinois registration decals are to be 
displayed on either side of the Federally 
documented name of the vessel. 

 

Hull Identification Number (HIN) Boats 
manufactured after 1972 will have a hull 
identification number consisting of 12 characters 
normally found on the outboard side of the transom, 
or if there is no transom, to the outermost starboard 

side at the end of the hull that bears the rudder or 
other steering mechanism above the water line. The 
HIN may be carved, burned, stamped, embossed, or 
otherwise permanently affixed in such a way that 
alteration, removal or replacement would be 
obvious or evident.   No person may possess a 
watercraft that has the HIN removed, defaced or 
obliterated. 
 
Water Usage Stamp Any person using a non-
powered watercraft on the waters of this State shall 
have a valid water usage stamp affixed to an area 
easily visible either on the exterior or interior of the 
device. Each water usage stamp shall bear the 
calendar year the stamp is in effect. The fee for a 
water usage stamp is $6 per stamp plus vendor fees 
for the first 3 stamps. Any person who purchases 
more than 3 water usage stamps receives each 
subsequent stamp for $3 each plus vendor fees  if 
purchased together as part of the same transaction. 
 
Boat Equipment 
The Illinois Boat Registration and Safety Act 
provides that the following equipment will be 
provided in various classes of boats: 

• Personal Flotation Devices (life 
preservers)  It is unlawful to operate 

 any watercraft unless at least one U.S. Coast 
 Guard approved PFD of the following types 
 or their equivalent is on board for each 
 person: Type I, Type II or Type III 
 (wearable PFDs). The PFD requirement 
 does not apply to sailboards. 
 Any watercraft 16 feet or more in length, 
 except a canoe or kayak, must have at 
 least one Type IV (throwable) U.S. Coast 
 Guard approved PFD or its’ equivalent 
 on board, in addition to the  PFDs 
 required above. 
 
 When assisting a person on water skis, 
 aquaplane, or similar device, there must 
 be one U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD on 
 board the watercraft for each person being 
 assisted or towed, or worn by the person 
 being assisted or towed. NOTE: A ski belt is 
 not a U.S. Coast Guard approved PFD. 
 



4 
 

 Type I and II personal flotation 
devices are designed to turn an 
unconscious person in the water 
from a face downward position to a 
vertical or slightly backward 
position. 

 Type III personal flotation device is 
designed to keep a conscious person 

  in a vertical or slightly backward  
  position. A Type III is not required 
  to turn an unconscious person to a  
  face up position in the water but will 
  maintain a stable face up attitude  
  once a person assumes that position. 

 Type IV personal flotation device is 
designed to be thrown to a person in 
the water and not worn. 

 Type V personal flotation device is 
approved for restricted use and may 
be used in lieu of the Type I, II or III 
PFD only when used in the activity 
for which it is approved. 

 
 The type and USCG approval information 
 will be found on the device label.  All such 
 PFDs mentioned in this section must be 
 readily accessible in serviceable condition, 
 of an appropriate size for who it is 
 intended, and legibly marked with the 
 USCG approval number. 
 
 No person may operate a personal watercraft 
 or specialty prop-craft unless each person 
 aboard is wearing a Type I, Type II, Type III 
 or Type V PFD approved by the United 
 States Coast Guard. 
 
 No person may operate a watercraft under 
 26 feet in length unless a Type I, Type II, 
 Type III, or Type V personal flotation 
 device is being properly worn by each 
 person under the age of 13 on board the 
 watercraft at all times in which the 
 watercraft is underway; however, this 
 requirement shall not apply to persons who 
 are below decks in totally enclosed cabin 
 spaces. This provision shall not apply to a 
 person operating a watercraft on private 
 property. 
 

• Lanyards or Engine Cut-off Devices 
No person may operate any motor boat, 
including a personal watercraft or specialty 
prop-craft, equipped with an engine cut-off 
switch while the engine is running and the 
motorboat is underway, without verifying 
that the engine cut-off switch is operational 

 and fully-functional and: (1) the engine cut-
 off switch link is properly attached to his or 
 her person, clothing or worn PFD, as 
 appropriate for the specific vessel; or (2) 
 activating the wireless cut-off system. For 
 the purposes of this section, "Engine cut-off 
 switch link" means the lanyard or wireless 
 cut-off device used to attach the motorboat 
 operator to the engine cut-off switch 
 installed on the motorboat. "Engine cut-off 
 switch" means an operational emergency 
 cut-off engine stop switch installed on a 
 motorboat that attaches to a motorboat 
 operator by an engine cut-off switch link 
. 

• Lights Every vessel shall carry and display 
when underway between the hours of sunset 
and sunrise such lights as shall be required 
by the United States Coast Guard for 
watercraft of equivalent length and type. 
The U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Rules, 
International-Inland encompasses lighting 
requirements for every description of 
watercraft. The information provided here is 
intended for power-driven and sailing 
vessels less than 20 meters. 
 Power-Driven Vessels 

 Power-driven vessels of less than 20 meters, 
 shall exhibit navigation lights as shown in 
 Figure 2. Vessels of less than 12 meters in 
 length, may show the lights in either 
 Figure 1 or Figure 2 (see following page).  
 Sailing vessels operating under machinery, 
 or under sail and machinery, are considered 
 power-driven and must display the lights 
 prescribed for a power-driven vessel. 
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 Figure 1 

  
 
 Figure 2 

  
 
 
 

 Sailing Vessels & Vessels 
Under Oars 

 Sailing vessels less than 20 meters shall 
 exhibit navigation lights shown in Figure 3 
 or 4 or  may be combined in a single lantern 
 carried at the top of the mast as shown in 
 the right image of Figure 5.  Sailing vessels 
 less than 7 meters may carry an electric 
 torch or lighted lantern showing a white 
 light to be displayed in sufficient time to 
 prevent collision (see  Figure 6), if 
 practicable, the lights prescribed for sailing 
 vessels less than 20 meters should be 
 displayed.  
 
 Vessels under oars may display the lights 
 prescribed for sailing vessels, but if not, 
 must have ready at hand an electric torch or 
 lighted lantern showing a white light to be 
 shown in sufficient time to prevent collision 
 (see Figure 6). 

 
 
   
  Figure 3 

 
Figure 4 

 
 
 
Figure 5  

 
 
Figure 6 

 
 

 Lights For Anchored Vessels 
 Power-driven vessels and sailing vessels at 
 anchor must display anchor lights. An 
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 anchor light for a vessel less than 20 meters 
 in length is an all-round white light visible 
 for 2 miles exhibited where it can best be 
 seen (see Figure 5) Vessels less than 7 
 meters are not  required to display anchor 
 lights unless anchored in or near a narrow 
 channel, fairway or anchorage or where 
 other vessels normally navigate. 

• Mufflers All motorboats shall be equipped 
and maintained with an effective muffler or 
underwater exhaust system. An effective 
muffler or underwater exhaust system is one 
which does not produce sound levels that 
create excessive or unusual noise, or sound 
levels that are in excess of 90 decibels when 
subjected to a stationary sound level test or 
75 decibels when in operation on the waters 
of this State.  A motorboat tuned up for or 
participating in official trials for a 
sanctioned race or regatta conducted under a 
permit, or a motorboat being operated by a 
boat or marine engine manufacturer for the 
purpose of testing or development are 
exempt from this requirement.  Any person 
who operates any motorboat upon the waters 
of this State shall be deemed to have given 
consent to the  test or tests prescribed by the 
Department to determine if the motorboat is 
in compliance. 

• Whistles It is unlawful to operate a 
motorboat without a mouth, hand, or power 
operated whistle, horn, or other appliance 
capable of producing a blast of 2 seconds or 
more duration and audible for at least one-
half mile. This regulation applies to all 
motorboats, regardless of size or motor. 

• Fire Extinguisher  It is unlawful to 
operate any motorboat equipped with an 
internal combustion engine anywhere in this 
State without at least one U.S. Coast Guard 
approved fire extinguisher so placed as to be 

 readily accessible and in such condition as 
 to be ready for immediate and effective use. 

• Carburetor Arrestors Except for 
outboard motors, all motorboats shall be 
fitted with a Coast Guard approved device 
for arresting back fire. 

• Ventilators Except for open boats, all 
motorboats using fuel having a flashpoint of 

110 degrees Fahrenheit or less shall have at 
least 2 ventilator ducts, fitted with cowls or 
their equivalent, for the efficient removal of 
explosive or flammable gases from the 
bilges of every engine and fuel tank 
compartment. There shall be at least one 
exhaust duct installed so as to extend from 
the open atmosphere to the lower portion of 
the bilge and at least one intake duct 
installed so as to extend to a point at least 
midway to the bilge or at least below the 
level of the carburetor air intake. The cowls 
shall be located and trimmed for maximum 
effectiveness and in such manner so as to 
prevent displaced fumes from being 
recirculated. 

• Siren and Flashing Lights  The use of 
sirens or flashing lights shall be unlawful 
except on duly designated patrol boats, and 
such sirens or flashing lights used in 
violation of the Boating Act shall be 
considered a public nuisance and subject to 
confiscation and disposal as determined 

 by a competent court of jurisdiction. 
• Battery Covers Storage batteries shall be 

provided with suitable supports and secured 
against shifting. Batteries shall be equipped 
with nonconductive shielding means to 
prevent accidental shorting. 

• Sealing of Marine Heads No marine 
head (toilet) on any watercraft used upon 
waters of this state may be so constructed 
and operated as to permit the discharge of 
any sewage into the waters directly or 
indirectly. 

• Visual Distress Signals It is unlawful to 
operate any watercraft on the waters of Lake 
Michigan without having onboard visual 
distress signals as required and approved by 
the U.S. Coast Guard, so placed as to be 
readily accessible and in such condition as 
to be ready for immediate and effective use. 
(Note: The U.S. Coast Guard requires visual 
distress signals on all vessels whose length 
is 16 feet or greater being operated during 
the day.) 
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Operation of Boats 
 

• Careless Operation No person shall 
operate any watercraft in a careless or 
heedless manner as to endanger any person 
or property, or at a rate of speed greater than 
will permit him, in the exercise of 
reasonable care, to bring the watercraft to a 
stop within the assured clear distance ahead. 

• Reckless Operation No person shall 
operate any watercraft, specialty prop-craft, 
personal watercraft or manipulate any water 
skis, aquaplane, or similar device in such a 
manner as to willfully or wantonly endanger 
the life, limb or property of any person, to 
weave through congested traffic, to jump the 
wake of another vessel unreasonably or 
unnecessarily close to the other vessel or 
when visibility around the other vessel is 
obstructed, to wait until the last possible 
moment to swerve to avoid collision, or 
operate any watercraft so as to approach or 
pass another watercraft in such a manner or 
at such a rate of speed as to create a 
hazardous wake or wash. A person 
convicted of committing a violation of this 
section shall be guilty of aggravated reckless 
operation of a watercraft if the violation of 
this Section resulted in great bodily harm or 
permanent disability or disfigurement of 
another, when the violation was a proximate 
cause of the injuries. 

• Interference with Navigation No 
person shall operate any watercraft in a 
manner which unreasonably or 
unnecessarily interferes with other 
watercraft or with the free and proper 
navigation of the waterways of the State. 
Anchoring under bridges or in heavily 
traveled channels constitutes such 
interference if unreasonable under the 
prevailing circumstances. 

• Overloading No motorboat may be loaded 
with passengers or cargo beyond its safe 
carrying capacity taking into consideration 
weather and other existing operating 
conditions. Water skiers, tubers, parasailers, 
or other persons towed by the motorboat 
shall be considered part of the total number 

of passengers and cargo allowed by a 
watercraft's capacity plate for the purpose of 
determining a motorboat's carrying capacity. 

 Every vessel less than 26 feet in length,   
      designed to carry 2 or more persons and to 
 be propelled by machinery as its principal 
 source of power or designed to be propelled 
 by oars shall, if manufactured or offered for 
 sale in this State, have affixed permanently 
 thereto by the manufacturer a capacity plate 
 as required by this Section.  

• Incapacity of Operator The owner of 
any motorboat or any person having such in 
charge or in control shall not authorize or 
knowingly permit the same to be operated 
by any person who by reason of physical or 
mental disability is incapable of operating 
such motorboat under the prevailing 
circumstances. 

• Overpowering No motorboat shall be 
equipped with any motor or other propulsion 
machinery beyond its safe power capacity 
taking into consideration the type and 
construction of such motorboat and other 
existing operating conditions. 

• Passing When two boats are approaching 
each other “head on” or nearly so (so as to 
involve risk of collision), each boat must 
bear to the right and pass the other boat on 
its left side. 

• Crossing When boats approach each other 
at right angles, the boat approaching on the 
right side has the right of way. 

• Overtaking One boat may overtake 
another on either side but must grant right of 
way to the overtaken boat. 

• Sailboats and Rowboats When a 
motorboat is approaching a boat propelled 

 solely by sails or oars, the motorboat must 
 yield the right of way to the sailboat or 
 rowboat except, when a large craft is 
 navigating in a confined channel, the large 
 craft has the right of way over a boat 
 propelled solely by oars or sails. 

• Restricted Areas  No person shall operate 
a motorboat in a water area which has been 
clearly marked by buoys or signs as a 
bathing, fishing or otherwise restricted area, 
except in the manner prescribed by the 
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 buoys or signs marking the area. In areas 
 designated as “No Wake” areas, no 
 motorboat underway shall exceed 5 miles 
 per hour while in the posted “No Wake” 
 area. 

• Slow – No Wake Areas A wake is 
defined as a movement of the water created 
by a boat underway great enough to disturb 
a boat at rest, but under no circumstances 
shall a boat underway exceed 5 miles per 
hour while in a posted "No Wake" area. In 
addition, no person shall operate a 
watercraft within 150 feet of a public 
launching ramp owned, operated or 
maintained by the Department or a political 
subdivision of the State at greater than a “No 
Wake” speed. Posting of the areas is not 
required. 

• Water Skiing When towing a person on 
water skis, aquaplane or similar device, the 
towing vessel must have a capacity of at 
least three persons and must be occupied by 
at least two competent people. It is unlawful 

 to water ski from the period of one-half hour  
 after sunset to one-half hour prior to sunrise. 
 All persons being towed are considered part 
 of the watercraft’s carrying capacity.  The 
 operator of any watercraft that is towing a 
 person or persons shall display on the 
 watercraft a bright or brilliant orange flag 
 measuring not  less than 12 inches per side. 
 The flag shall  be displayed at the highest 
 point of the area surrounding the boat's helm 
 as to be visible from all directions, 
 continuously, while the person or persons 
 being towed depart the boat in preparation 
 for towing and until reentry into the boat 
 when the activity has  ceased. Display of the 
 flag for purposes other than the activity 
 described in this Section is prohibited. 

• Diving No watercraft shall be operated 
within 150 feet of a diving flag, except for 
watercraft directly associated  with the 
diving activity.   

• Operating Under the Influence 
(OUI) No person shall operate a watercraft 
while under the influence of alcohol or any 
other drug to the degree which renders 
him/her incapable of safely operating such 

watercraft, or who has any amount of a drug, 
substance, or compound in his/her blood or 
urine resulting from the unlawful use or 
consumption of cannabis as defined in the 
Cannabis Control Act or a controlled 
substance listed in the Illinois Controlled 
Substance Act. 

• Unlawful Operation at Night  No 
person shall operate a personal watercraft 

 or a specialty prop craft between the hours 
 of sunset and sunrise. 

• Passenger Location No person operating 
a motorboat shall allow a person in the 
motorboat to ride or sit on the gunwales, 
tops of seat backs, or on the decking over 
the bow or stern of the motorboat while the 
motorboat is underway, unless the person is 
inboard of guards or rails provided on the 
motorboat to prevent passengers from being 
lost overboard. Nothing in this section shall 
be construed to prohibit entry upon the 
decking over the bow or stern of the 
motorboat for the purpose of anchoring, 
mooring, or casting off or some other 
necessary purpose nor to prohibit customary 
practices while lawfully engaged in 
commercial fishing under the provisions of 
the Fish and Aquatic Life Code or hunting 
and trapping under the provisions of the 
Wildlife Code. These provisions shall not 
apply to the driver of the boat, a person 
while fishing or to a person on private 
property. 

• Age of Operator 
 No person under 10 years of age may 

operate a motor boat. 
 Persons at least 10 years of age and less 

than 12 years of age may operate a 
motorboat only if: 

    1) they are accompanied on the  
  motorboat and under the direct  
  control of a parent or guardian, or  
    2) a person at least 18 years of age  
  designated by a parent or guardian. 

 Persons at least 12 years of age and 
less than 18 years of age may operate a 
motorboat only if: 
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1) they are accompanied on the 
motorboat and under the direct 
control of a parent or guardian or 

2) a person at least 18 years of age 
designated by a parent or 
guardian or 

3) such motorboat operator is in 
possession of a Boating Safety 

       Certificate issued by the   
       Department of Natural Resources, 
       Division of Education or a valid  
       certificate issued by another 
       State, a province of the Dominion 
       of Canada, the United States  
       Coast Guard Auxiliary or the  
       United States Power Squadron. 
 Violations of this Section done with the 
 knowledge of a parent or guardian shall 
 be deemed a violation by the parent or 
 guardian and Safety Act. 
 NOTE:  Beginning on January 1, 2016, no 
 person  born on or after January 1, 1998, 
 unless  exempted by subsection (i), shall 
 operate a motorboat with over 10 horse 
 power unless that person has a valid  
 Boating Safety Certificate issued by the 
 Department of Natural Resources or an 
 entity or organization recognized and 
 approved by the Department. Please check 
 back at a later date for more details. 

• Operation of Watercraft Upon the 
Approach of an Authorized  

 Emergency Watercraft 
 Upon the immediate approach of an 
 authorized emergency watercraft 
 making use of rotating or flashing visual 
 signals and lawfully making use of a visual 
 signal, the operator of every other watercraft 
 shall yield the right of way and shall 
 immediately reduce the speed of the 
 watercraft, so as not to create a wake, and 
 shall yield way to the emergency watercraft, 
 moving to the right to permit the safe 
 passage of the emergency watercraft, and 
 shall stop and remain in that position until 
 the authorized emergency watercraft has 
 passed, unless otherwise directed by a police 
 officer. 
 

 Upon approaching a stationary authorized 
 emergency watercraft, when the authorized 
 emergency watercraft is giving a signal by 
 displaying rotating or alternately flashing 
 red, blue, red and white, red and blue, or red 
 in combination with white or blue lights, a 
 person operating an approaching watercraft 
 shall proceed with due caution at no wake 
 speed and yield the right of way by moving 
 safely away from that authorized emergency 
 watercraft, proceeding with due caution at a 
 no wake speed with due regard to safety and 
 water conditions, maintaining no wake 
 speed until sufficiently away from the 
 emergency watercraft so as not to create a 
 wake that would otherwise rock or otherwise 
 disturb the authorized emergency watercraft. 
 
A person who violates this Section commits  a 
business offense punishable by a fine of not less 
than $100 or more than $10,000. It is a factor in 
aggravation if the person committed the offense 
while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. 
 
If a violation of this Section results in damage to the 
property of another person, in addition to any other 
penalty imposed, the person's watercraft operating 
privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of 
not less than 90 days and not  more than one year.  
 
If a violation of this Section results in injury  to 
another person, in addition to any other penalty 
imposed, the person's watercraft operating 
privileges shall be suspended for a fixed period of 
not less than 180 days and not more than 2 years. 
 
Boat Accident Reports 
The operator of a vessel involved in a collision or 
accident must render aid (if practical) to any 
affected persons and provide his name, address and 
vessel information to any person injured and to the 
owner of any property damaged as a result of the 
collision or accident. Failure to comply, when the 
accident or collision results in the death or personal 
injury to a person, is a Class A misdemeanor. 
 
Any person who has failed to stop or comply with 
this section must as soon as possible but no later 
than one hour after the collision or accident 
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occurred, report the incident to the nearest police 
station or sheriff’s office. If the operator was 
hospitalized, this report must be filed within one 
hour of being discharged from the hospital. If the 
collision or accident involved personal injury to a 
person, failure to comply is a Class 4 felony. 
Personal injury is defined as any injury requiring 
treatment beyond first aid. If the collision or 
accident resulted in death, failure to comply is a 
Class 2 felony punishable by 3 – 4 years in prison. 
 
In addition to the above requirements, whenever a 
boat is involved in a collision or accident causing 
property damage of $2000 or more, or results in 
total loss of the vessel, or causes injury to any 
person requiring medical attention beyond first aid, 
a report, completed by the operator, must be made 
to the Department, on forms provided, within 5 
days. All boating accidents which result in loss of 
life must be reported, by the operator, to the 
Department on forms provided, within 48 hours. 
 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2013: Operators of 
motorboats involved in a boating accident resulting 
in serious injury or death must submit to chemical 
testing (breath, blood, or urine) upon request by the 
investigating law enforcement officer.  Failure to 
submit to requested testing or submitting to testing 
but failing such testing, shall result in a suspension 
of the motorboat operators Illinois driver’s license 
by the Illinois Secretary of State. 
 
Suspension Provisions 
A person’s privileges to operate a watercraft may be 
suspended for a period of 1 to 3 years for violations 
of operating under the influence, careless or 
reckless operation, or failure to report an accident. 
Further, it shall be unlawful for any person to 
operate a watercraft when their privileges have been 
suspended or revoked in this state, or by another 
state, a federal agency, or a province of Canada. 
 
How Do I Report A Boating Violation or 
Boat Accident? 
Illinois Conservation Police Officers (CPO’s) are 
dispatched by your local Illinois State Police 
District HQ dispatch center. If you have a serious 
boating violation or boat accident to report, dial 
“911” immediately. Otherwise, contact your local 

Illinois State Police District HQ dispatch center for 
assistance in contacting a Conservation Police 
Officer.  A listing of Illinois State Police Districts 
can be found at http://www.isp.state.il.us/  
 
Boating questions can also be directed to the  
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES -OFFICE OF LAW 
ENFORCEMENT ADMINISTRATIVE 
OFFICE  
One Natural Resources Way 
Springfield, IL 62702-1271 
(217) 782-6431 

TDD: 217/782-9175 
Ameritech Relay Number: 1-800-526-0844 

Equal opportunity to participate in programs of the Illinois 
Department of Natural 
Resources (IDNR) and those funded by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service and other 
agencies is available to all individuals regardless of race, sex, 
national origin, disability, 
age, religion or other non-merit factors. If you believe you 
have been discriminated 
against, contact the funding source’s civil rights office and/or 
the Equal Employment 
Opportunity Officer, IDNR, One Natural Resources Way, 
Springfield, IL 62702-1271; 
217/785-0067; TTY 217/782-9175. 

 

 

 

http://www.isp.state.il.us/

