
IDNR SNOWMOBILE SAFETY COURSE SCHEDULED 

 

 
 

Area residents will have the opportunity to learn basic principles of safe snowmobiling 
at a free Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) snowmobile safety course 

 
scheduled at the location below: 

 
Facility:_______________________________________________________________________ 

Address:______________________________________________________________________ 

Registration Information:________________________________________________________ 

Date:________________________________ Time:___________________________________ 

 
 
A state law requires that all snowmobilers at least twelve years of age and less than sixteen 
years of age may operate a snowmobile only if:  
 

1. They have in possession a valid Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate of Competency, 
issued by the Department authorizing them to operate snowmobiles. 

2. They are accompanied on the snowmobile by a parent or guardian at least 16 years of 
age.  
 

Students 12 and over successfully completing the course and the final exam will receive an 
official wallet Certificate of Completion.  Students 11 years old will receive their certificate upon 
their 12th birthday. Students under the age of 11 may not participate in the exam to receive 
certification.  
 
This is an excellent opportunity for young snowmobilers who need the course in order to 
operate a snowmobile. It can be beneficial for both beginning and advanced snowmobilers.  
 
The Illinois Snowmobile Safety Course consists of a minimum eight hours of instruction and 
covers the basics of operator safety, equipment, requirements, registration and titling, 
emergency measures, responsible operation and the Illinois snowmobile laws.  
 
 

Pre-registration is required for attendance at the class. 

For additional information on this and other Safety Education courses visit our website at: 

https://www.dnr.illinois.gov/safety/ 
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