Snowmobile Safety Education
Illinois winters are very unpredictable and when we receive enough snow for snowmobiling everyone is anxious to ride. Courses should be taken before the snow arrives. Besides teaching basic safety principles the course attempts to develop the proper attitude of respect for the student's fellow person and the environment. The development of this respect and correct safety procedures are essential if snowmobiling is to continue to grow and give hours of enjoyment as a leisure time recreational activity in Illinois.
The Illinois Snowmobile Education Course consists of a minimum eight hours of instruction. The educational material is based on a sixth-grade reading level. These courses cover the basics in maintenance and repair of snowmobiles, proper and safe operation, history of snowmobiling, first aid, protection of the environment and the state laws.
No person under 10 years of age may operate a snowmobile. Age 10 years and less than 12 years of age may operate under a parent or guardian's direct control.
The program is primarily designed to train young people between the ages of 12 and 16. The educational material is based on a sixth-grade reading level. Students under the age of 11 may not participate in the exam to receive certification.
Persons 12 and over completing the minimum eight hours of instruction and successfully completing the final examination will receive a State of Illinois Certificate of Competency.
Students between the age of 11-12 years old will receive their certificate upon their 12th birthday.
Who Must Take The Course?
On October 2, 1975, a State law was passed that requires persons at least twelve years of age and less than sixteen years of age may operate a snowmobile only if:
- they have in possession a valid Snowmobile Safety Education Certificate of Competency issued by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Safety Education Section; or 2. they are accompanied on the snowmobile by a parent or guardian or person at least sixteen years of age designated by a parent or guardian.
Two Way To Take The Course
Instructor-led Classes -The traditional class method is through an 8 hour instructor-led class structure. Classes may be taught in one day or over a couple of different days. The class will end with a test to pass the class. Interested individuals may call 1-800-832-2599 or check Class Schedules.
Online Self-Study Course - Students may study the course material at their own pace, completing chapter reviews along the way. At the end of the course material the student will be required to pass an exam. Student certification will be mailed by the course provider.
Two Providers - On-line Snowmobile Safety Course And Certification: