Skip to main content

Wild About Illinois Crayfish!

​Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Arthropoda
Class: Malacostraca - Members of this large class of crustaceans may be found in freshwater, saltwater or on land. The group includes sowbugs, crabs, shrimp, amphipods, crayfish and others. These organisms have appendages with two branches. The body is either flattened top to bottom, flattened side to side or cylindrical.
Order: Decapoda - The Order Decapoda includes crayfishes, crabs and shrimps. These organisms have five pairs of walking legs. The body is divided into a cephalothorax and an abdomen. Gills are present in chambers and are attached to the legs. The compound eyes are on stalks.
Family: Cambaridae - The Cambaridae are the largest of the three families of freshwater crayfish, with over 400 species.
     devil crayfish (Cambarus diogenes)
     digger crayfish (Creaserinus fodiens)
     northern clearwater crayfish (Faxonius propinquus)
     prairie crayfish (Procambarus gracilis)
     rusty crayfish (Faxonius rusticus)
     virile crayfish (Faxonius virilis)
     white river crayfish (Procambarus acutus)